I am aware of at least 3 separate groups of people working toward a solution for our city. I am happy to see that so many folks care and are willing to get involved. This is a good sign. With all of the other committees out there, I realize that starting another seems a bit much. However, the objective of each committee varies and the suggestion I'm going to run by you is different also. 
    I propose we establish a group of community members specifically to; first collect reliable information, and then compile our facts to create at least 2 realistic options should Pacific fail as a city. This way, we're not letting our imaginations run wild and making it up as we go. Factual information eases fear of the unknown, stops the spread of misinformation, and gives people choices. At this point, no one can predict what will happen. This is putting great stress on our community. A back up plan provides us with a "safety net" just in case. This doesn't mean abandon your goal to save the city, it means sometimes things are beyond our control so we prepare. I'm looking at this like an insurance policy. We don't purchase a life insurance plan because we gave up on life and don't care anymore. We purchase life insurance because we can't predict the future and we want to protect what we value most. 
    I'm looking for opinions here and to see if this is something you'd be interested in, so please share your thoughts. Thanks for reading and I hope you all had a wonderful weekend = )
Joshua Putnam
8/11/2012 03:33:20 am

As a sitting Council member, my primary obligation has to be trying to get the City working again. And with the rumor-mongering and personality politics washing through City Hall this year, I doubt any genuinely independent committee would want a current elected as a member. Personally, maintaining Pacific as a functioning, independent city is still my preferred option.

That said, I would be happy to assist any groups with gathering background information. I hope the City does not fail, I'm working to help avoid that, but if it happens, I do want residents to be well-informed to respond.

Reply
David Messinger
9/1/2012 05:40:35 am

I'm with Josh...making the existing system work is a much easier and less costly fix than the other alternative...I have seen why cities incorporate in both University place and Lakewood...the options through their communities research and service quality of the other alternative proved to be an undesirable option for both cities and their residents.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.